Memories of Grand Bassa County (2)

As you will see from the last post, the technological hassles got in the way of me mentioning any memories from my time in Buchanan, Grand Bassa County! Funny how life in Liberia does that to you – slams something in your face and distracts you from the purpose. Stay on track, gal!

Buchanan is a nice town, from what I know of it. It stays fondly in my memory as it was the first trip I made outside of Monrovia at the end of 2008. It was the first time I met our CA crew from all over Liberia. It was a bit over-whelming and it took some time before I could place each name, with the face, and the place where they were deployed. Buchanan was also the first field trip where I got a hint of the dehydration and migraine factor that would afflict me on most of my field visits in Liberia. Buchanan was also where I saw the Nepali FPU serving as peace-keepers which suddenly took me back to my time working in Nepal. It was also the first place where I had a chance to mingle with people in a village with my trusty Canon 50D taking aim. The fun photos are in the slideshow that should come next…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

If you have to be deployed in one of the Liberian counties, GBC is q good place to end up. When the railway is fully operational to Nimba County things will speed up even more as the iron ore industry and forestry (logging) will boost the economy and bring in more action. Even though its not in Grand Bassa County, you drive past Firestone HQ on the way and rubber is also a big economic driver in the county.  There are plenty of issues to work on, NGOs to assist, and conferences to attend!

Leave a Reply

